What is an Identity?
  • 19 Oct 2023
  • 1 Minute to read
  • Contributors
  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

What is an Identity?

  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Article summary

What is an Identity?

An Identity is a single entity's (employee, contractor, service account) grouping of Service Users, Attributes, and assigned Entitlements which combine into a Unified Identity defining their access to your organization's application landscape.

Example Service User object:

{
    "id": "d81fba0f6fc3c76d802e44d066e1693a",
    "pmi": 2020072151,
    "type": 2,
    "email": "sam.mcclarity@claritysecurity.io",
    "status": "active",
    "role_id": "2",
    "language": "en-US",
    "timezone": "America/Chicago",
    "verified": 1,
    "last_name": "McClarity",
    "created_at": "2022-07-02T07:20:08Z",
    "first_name": "Sam",
    "job_title": "Systems Engineer",
    "department": "Information Technology",
    "manager": "Alexis Silverwood",
    "last_login_time": "2023-01-30T:59:10Z",
    "user_created_at": "2022-07-02T23:21:00Z"
}

What Generates an Identity

In the Clarity Security Platform, Identities are generated from your connected Applications and are combined into a Unified Identity that is directly tied to a single entity within Clarity.


Creating, Modifying, and Deleting Identities

Creating

Identities are created during the onboarding process by pulling information from all connected systems and apps which are then combined into a Unified Identity. New Identities created in a Source of Truth will create a new Identity in Clarity on the next successful sync, if one does not exist. Identities can also be manually created within Clarity.

Modifying

Modifying identities is dependent on the policies for your organization. Changes to Identities would be made in your Downstream Applications, and reflected within Clarity on the next successful sync.

Deleting

Deactivating or Deleting identities is dependent on your companies practices. Changes to Identities would be made in your Downstream Applications, and reflected within Clarity on the next successful sync.

Deactivation will deprovision the user access but retain the user information. Some organizations have audit requirements that prohibit any deletion of account information.

Deletion will completely deprovision the entitlements and remove the user account record from the specified application(s).


If you have any problems, contact your customer success team. You can also get in touch with our general support via email, open a support ticket. Our general support team is available Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 6:30 PM CST.


Was this article helpful?

Changing your password will log you out immediately. Use the new password to log back in.
First name must have atleast 2 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Last name must have atleast 1 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Enter a valid email
Enter a valid password
Your profile has been successfully updated.